Maine: Part 1

Before I went back to school last summer, my friends and I decided to take a short roadtrip through Maine. I have an affinity for coastal areas, so this was the perfect destination for me. Part 1 covers the first half of the trip, which includes the little town of Kennebunkport and a whale watching adventure in Newburyport (Massachusetts). All pictures were taken either by me or my roadtrip buddies.

The first day was a travel day. We packed our bags early in the morning and got into the car for a long ride. Nothing really happened (I saw a Tesla for the first time though), so there weren’t really any pictures taken until we got to the bridge between New Hampshire and Maine.

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

Displaying IMG_4543.JPG

We eventually arrived at our accomodation, the Waldo Emerson Inn. It was built by and evidently named after Waldo Emerson, who was actually famous writer Ralph Waldo Emerson’s great uncle. Since we arrived in the evening, we mainly just went to dinner that night. We ate at Mabel’s Lobster Claw, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Kennebunkport. It had a nice atmosphere, the meal was satisfying, and they gave us some free blueberry bread.

Displaying IMG_4559.JPG

Displaying IMG_4547.JPG

The yummy blueberry bread!

Displaying IMG_4548.JPG

I need to note that one of the most exciting things about going to Maine for me was the clam chowder. I actually only tried it from two places, but this bowl of soup from Mabel’s was delicious! It was definitely one hundred times better than the second place that I went to (that will be covered in Part 2).

Displaying IMG_4558.JPG

This was my main course; I think it was called “The Duchess.” In the top right is a bowl of squash that I ended up giving my friend.

Displaying IMG_3094.JPG

A closer look: lobster, scallops, and shrimp.

It was dark after dinner, so we headed back to our room and chilled out for the rest of the night. The next morning, we were served breakfast by the innkeepers before taking a stroll through Kennebunkport. It was a short walk, but I thought it was a nice way to start the day. My friends even added a love lock to the bridge.

Displaying IMG_4551.JPG

Breakfast at the inn: Omelette, bacon, and a muffin. There were other things too, like granola and fruit.

Displaying IMG_4552.JPG

A beautiful view from a parking lot (lol).

Displaying image1.JPG

Love locks on the bridge.

We then got back into the car and drove to Massachusetts. What? Massachusetts? Why did you go to Massachusetts if you were roadtripping in Maine? Well, one of the goals that we had for the trip was to go whale watching. My friend found a deal for the Newburyport Whale Watch, and it was reasonably close to Kennebunkport…so we thought “why not?” I don’t have too many pictures from the whale watch, but I can tell you that it was absolutely amazing! The two times I had gone whale watching before, I never actually saw whales. The first time, there were no sightings of anything; during the second, we spotted some dolphins (they were pretty cute though, so I’m not complaining). In Massachusetts, we saw SO MANY whales!!! SO MANY!!! Three humpback whales (including a calf), fin whales, and probably some others that I can’t remember (whoops). It was like a dream, and I probably cried at some point.

Displaying IMG_4554.JPG

Displaying IMG_4556.JPG

Displaying IMG_4562.JPG

The humpback whale calf and its mother.

Displaying whale.jpg

This is the end for Part 1. I will work on uploading Part 2 soon! Also, I apologize for any amateur-ness; I am still learning how to be a proper blogger. However, thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

